back to complaining about PIO

In the epic battle of which fertility medication is making me
the most miserable at the moment, PIO is once again in the lead.

Thanks to the wonderful tip I got last week to do the Lovenox injection extremely slowly, and deciding to ice the area beforehand, that injection is much better for now. I only have two fairly small (although very deep purple) bruises on my belly and the discomfort has decreased.

Oh PIO. I have some seriously large knots in my lower back thanks to these shots. I’m starting to run out of real estate for the injection sites without having to stick the needle straight into a knot. One side is approaching grapefruit size, the other is baseball size. They are seriously making my pants fit tighter, and are visible when I look at my profile in the mirror. They constantly hurt and the bruises are obviously rubbing against my pants all day which does not feel good either. Ugh. I’m such a complainer, but these things stink! I was told that once I get my beta results sent into my primary doctor my insurance will start covering Endometrin. I’m thinking I will replace the PIO with that as soon as we get back from our trip. I have heard that there is potentially some evidence indicating PIO is better for reducing miscarriage risk than Endometrin, but I haven’t seen anything conclusive so I think I’m going to chance it. Does anyone have any insight on this?

6 thoughts on “back to complaining about PIO

  1. PIO sucks, but there are things you can do to make it better. Does your DH do your shots for you? If so, I would suggest NOT icing the area first. If you do have/want to ice first, you must massage the the area for a while afterwards. Also, some say it’s good to put heat on it afterwards if you ice. BUT – if your DH does your shots, I would suggest NOT icing first and having him do the stick very quickly, then injecting as quickly as he can (I know it’s thick), and then do a quick massage of the area afterwards. When we stopped icing, I stopped getting bruises and knots. When I had to do my own shots, there was no way around icing, but with DH doing them, I just dealt with the initial stick without icing and was MUCH happier afterwards!

    Good luck!

    • Wow, I need to stop icing! I used a heating pad or nothing for my first transfer and then read somewhere that it is best to ice so I’ve been using ice since. I’ll be more than happy to stop that! Thanks for the tip!

  2. No insight on PIO vs. Endometrin, but did want to let you know that I feel your pain. My pants were tight because of visible swelling from my injections, too. I wish I could say it got better, too, but my hind quarters still hurt when I run and I’ve been off the shots for 12 weeks now. I did find that warming the area before and after with a hot heating pad helped to keep the hard lumps from forming. Ice made it lump and ache even worse. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

